On the matter of the gelatine, if it is stated that the gelatine is extracted from animal then it is Haraam, (unless of course the gelatine has been manufactured in an Islamic country or it has been produced from animals which have been slaughtered according to the Islamic Shari’ah). If the gelatine is extracted from vegetable products then it is Halaal. It is important for you to know or to check in the country of your residence what is the norm when only gelatine is stated on the wrappings of a product. For example in the U.K. when gelatine is stated on the wrapping of a product, it is normally understood to be animal gelatine. Although recently manufacturers are being more particular in the information they provide and they state whether the gelatine is from animal or vegetable sources. There are also other terms used such as “gelling agent” which is usually taken from vegetable sources, unless otherwise stated. For example, pectin is a gelling agent that is taken from vegetable sources.
I live in the US and last week I discovered that gelatine was made out of pork as well as beef by-products. It is used in several food items such as: medicines, yoghurt, candy, jelly, desserts, and cereal. What is your opinion on its lawfulness? I have heard from other Muslims here that it is allowed, but I am not sure of where they obtained their information.
According to the Fatwa of Ayatollah al-Udhma Imam Muhammad Shirazi, the gelatine is Haraam if it is made from Haraam animal by-products. Therefore the gelatine that is made from pork, or from animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic Shari’ah, is Haraam and therefore not allowed. [Needless to say, the gelatine that is made in Islamic countries, or if it has been made from animal by-products that have been slaughtered according to Islamic Shari’ah is Halaal and therefore allowed to be consumed by Muslims.]