I live in the US and last week I discovered that gelatine was made out of pork as well as beef by-products. It is used in several food items such as: medicines, yoghurt, candy, jelly, desserts, and cereal. What is your opinion on its lawfulness? I have heard from other Muslims here that it is allowed, but I am not sure of where they obtained their information.

According to the Fatwa of Ayatollah al-Udhma Imam Muhammad Shirazi, the gelatine is Haraam if it is made from Haraam animal by-products. Therefore the gelatine that is made from pork, or from animals that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic Shari’ah, is Haraam and therefore not allowed. [Needless to say, the gelatine that is made in Islamic countries, or if it has been made from animal by-products that have been slaughtered according to Islamic Shari’ah is Halaal and therefore allowed to be consumed by Muslims.]